Back Home!

16 Aug

Home Sweet home!

I can’t believe that only a week ago WakeUp and I were inVerden, competing with the best young horses in the world!  However, after a grueling trip back, I am happy to be home!

We left Verden on Monday morning at 6:30 am to head to Amsterdam.  After arriving there around 1:00 pm and waiting for customs yet again, we finally got boarded on the plane back to NYC. The trip was a little bumpier than last time, but WakeUp, along with his two adorable halflinger travel buddies, handled it very well. We arrived safely in NYC Monday evening.  Unfortunately, one of my bags ran off.  Thank goodness Paul from Mersant Transporters was there to pick me up and try to hunt it down.  Luckily, we found the bag. Not so luckily, it cost us an extra two hours of waiting time.

It was interesting to see the difference between how the horses were received in Amsterdam vs. NY.  In New York everyone was required to wear scrubs, blood was immediately drawn from the horses, the feet had to be disinfected and shoes had to be scrubbed. In Amsterdam the vet only compared markings to the health certificate. We arrived finally arrived at the quarantine station in Newburgh, NY around 2:00 am and then I had to say bye to WakeUp for the next 48 hours… not the easiest thing to do.  I was dropped off at a nearby hotel around 4:00 am and was a zombie for the next day. I was so so so tired!  Luckily, I had a book and could just enjoy being a vegetable for the day! Wednesday I took the bus to NYC and enjoyed being a tourist and meeting up with some great friends! The only contact with Wakey that I had during quarantine was thedaily phone call telling me that he was eating, drinking and not running a fever!  He was therefore released on Thursday morning.  Brook Ledge then took WakeUp and me to Kentucky. We were getting closer but it was another late night! By the time we had the horses settled and the helpful drivers dropped me off at yet another hotel, it was around 3:30 am.  This was about the time that Mama left KS to come pick us up.  On Friday, Mama arrived in KY and then Mama, Wakey and I left KY on the final leg of the journey home. I think we all let out a sigh of relief as we arrived home Saturday, once again around 2:00 am!  We were home!

This has been one exciting journey! In the last monthWakeUp has ridden in nine different modes of transportation, stayed in seven different barns, traveled twelve days and had seven different vets sign health papers! In this last month I have not driven a car, cooked, used a laundry machine, slept in my own bed, ridden without instruction, given a lesson, cleaned a stall, done a flying change, watched an English movie, used the same internet connection for more than a week or seen my dog! I know we both learned so much but not just about half-halts and quicker hind legs! Wakeylearned how to travel in a box/facing forward/facing back/facing sideways/besides a stallion/besides a pony/in the air/on the ground, not be such a picky eater, graze on the lead rope, drink out of various automatic watering devices and pass the scary scary foal statue. I learned about cultures, different ways to do things, how thin skinned I can be, the importance of friends and family, the ability for attitudes to affect impressions and impressions to affect attitudes and that I can trust WakeUp to be silly but not stupid. I met truly wonderful people and made many friends!  It was anexperience that I will value forever.

I know that this experience would not have been possible without so many people helping me. I thank you for not only supporting me but also doing so without terms. I felt no pressure to prove anything to anybody or to make sure that nobody was “sorry” they helped. I hope everyone knows how much it means to me when I am told that people were reading my blog during the lunch break of a local show, when I receive a welcome home text or when someone writes to me to tell me they are proud of me.  I am thankful to have a wonderful horse, a fantastic family and stellar support group.

Now… I am going to clean some stalls, go to the pool, drive my car, ride a flying change, watch a movie in English, do some laundry, sleep in my own bed, remember Dr. Moeller telling me to use my left leg and hopefully see you soon!

Thanks, EMILY

Emily and her family at the World Young Horse Championships

5 Responses to “Back Home!”

  1. Wendy Simons August 16, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    Welcome home!! Please keep this blog going , following your adventure is so much fun. We are so happy for you .
    Love,
    Ken and Wendy

    • Emily Wagner August 16, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

      Hey Wendy! I am sorry but I am thinking my blogging days are finished (for awhile… ;)). I am going to get back to normal life, school, horses… Sorry I didn’t get to meet up with you! Call me sometime and we will catch up! HUGS

  2. Lisa Van Stratten August 17, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    I have really enjoyed riding along with you on your journey through your blog! You are a fantastic writer and I hope you will continue. I’m happy that you and WakeUp are safe at home. Glad you got to experience this great trip and got to share it with everyone. Technology is a wonderful thing! Congratulations on all your success.

  3. CHG August 18, 2010 at 10:11 am #

    Just found your blog! Had to add you to my blogroll, or what I call “Nifty Bloggin’ Gals” because not only is the story of your journey a really interesting one, but your mom’s name is Jana (as is mine!). We Janas rock. Anyway, now, I have to catch up on your whole story! Great blog!!

  4. natalie ross January 5, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    Hello Emily my name is Natalie Ross and have been a KCDS member in the past I still follow Dressage Today and some friends around Kansas City and their horses. I would just like to say I have watched you ride at the Dr. Ceaser Para Clinic at Trinity Farm one year and that’s when I knew you had it in you. I also watched you ride with Conrad at Freedom Hill you are amazing. I would like to congrats you on Qualifying for the 2010 World Breed Champ in Verden that is such an accomplishment and having the opportunity to train with a top trainer in Germany. I hope everything is going good for you and WakeUP. Sincerly, Natalie Ross

Leave a Reply

