Always something…

18 Jul

Thursday July 15, 2010

So little Wakey Wakey is doing fine, but this morning I noticed that his front leg was a little fat. Sure enough… he has a little skin irritation going on. Maybe it is from different straw or something in the transport. Who knows? PSI, being the immense place that it is, has an onsite veterinarian who checked it all out. Luckily, he isn’t lame on it and it doesn’t seem to be a big issue. We will just give him a few days of walking work, clean it, wrap it and put him on some antibiotics to be extra careful. Fortunately, we have the time to let it heal.

It is interesting how everyone likes to do things differently. I have been riding WakeUp in bell boots. Apparently, they are not loved at PSI. The horses that need the bell boots instead get wrapped all the way down to the hoof. I clipped WakeUp’s legs so that they would dry faster. I thought this would help with the skin problems, but alas, this is also frowned upon as well.

I am enjoying getting to know everyone. It is a slow process and I still feel like a total outsider but it will get better. The horses continue to impress me but it is also good to know that there are average horses here as well. Albeit few. I must say… there is a high risk of your stuff being whisked away. This is mainly a private barn, with very few outside horses, so everything is pretty much shared. I have lost my halter twice, my HP equine saddle pad once and even my bridle. I understand that they may want the cool stuff I got from High Performance Equine, but seriously, the logo is in English? Wouldn’t they guess it is the American’s?? LOL

Hope everyone is doing well and staying cool as I hear it is very warm back home. Big hugs!

EMILY

Here are some photos from the trip so far.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

8 Responses to “Always something…”

  1. Lisa Van Stratten July 18, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    Thanks for the update. Love the pictures! Hope the get gets better fast! When do you compete?

    • Emily Wagner July 19, 2010 at 8:58 am #

      Wakey is all better! Luckily it was only the weekend off… We compete the 5th of August!

  2. Melissa July 18, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

    It is great to hear how you are doing, you are in our thoughts. Pics are great..what a beautiful place. Keep us posted on your progress, all the best to you and Wakeup!

  3. Sandy, Carol and Amelia Switz July 18, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    Sounds very fun! Amelia says hello! We miss you! Sandy says – get a lock! I say be safe and have fun!

  4. Eurus Wagner July 18, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

    Nice post and pictures hope wake up gets well soon.

  5. Wendy July 19, 2010 at 7:16 am #

    Good luck and I hope your horse gets better soon

  6. Emily Fowler July 19, 2010 at 9:10 am #

    Love the pictures, the place looks wonderful. I especially liked the pictures of the shipping, that was cool!

  7. Linda Durbin July 22, 2010 at 11:20 pm #

    sorry to hear that your feeling like an outsider, hopefully that wont last to long since your such a lovely likeable gal. hope wakeys leg gets better. thanks for the pics, I was wondering how the crates looked. love ya and thinking about you.

Leave a Reply

